The Rolling Stones have announced their first new album for over 10 years.

The Rolling Stones

The Rolling Stones

'Blue and Lonesome' has been dubbed a return to the band's "roots and the passion for blues music" and will be released on December 2.

The record features covers of classic blues songs by artists Jimmy Reed, Willie Dixon, Eddie Taylor, Little Walter and Howlin' Wolf, many of whom inspired by the band at the start of their career.

A statement released by the rockers said: "The passion for blues music ... has always been at the heart and soul of The Rolling Stones. Their approach to the album was that it should be spontaneous and played live in the studio without overdubs."

The LP was recorded by The Stones - Sir Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Charlie Watts and Ronnie Wood - in just three days at British Grove Studios in west London and also features regular touring musicians Darryl Jones (bass), Chuck Leavell (keyboards) and Matt Clifford (keyboards).

Blues and rock guitar god Eric Clapton features on two tracks after he gatecrashed the studio in Chiswick, London.

A source previously said: "Eric was in the next studio along so he came in to say hello. They ended up jamming and recorded two songs."

And music producer Don Was - who helped produced the tracks for the album - has said the record is a "testament" to how much the band loves making music, and how moved they are by blues music in particular.

He said: "This album is manifest testament to the purity of their love for making music, and the blues is, for the Stones, the fountainhead of everything they do."

Guitarist Ronnie, 69, previously spoke about the heavy blues influence on the record admitting the band went on a streak in the studio.

He said: "We went in to cut some new songs, which we did. But we got on a blues streak. We cut 11 blues in two days. They are extremely great cover versions of 'Howlin' Wolf' and 'Little Walter', among other blues people. But they really sound authentic ... When we heard them back after not hearing them for a couple of months, we were, 'Who's that? It's you.' It sounded so authentic."

'Blue and Lonesome' tracklisting:

1. 'Just Your Fool'

2. 'Commit A Crime'

3. 'Blue and Lonesome'

4. 'All Of Your Love'

5. 'I Gotta Go'

6. 'Everybody Knows About My Good Thing'

7. 'Ride 'Em On Down'

8. 'Hate To See You Go'

9. 'Hoo Doo Blues'

10. 'Little Rain'

11. 'Just Like I Treat You'

12. 'I Can't Quit You Baby'