The 23 man list of players nominated for football's top individual prize does not feature even one player from Manchester United.

Wayne Rooney

Wayne Rooney

The Ballon d'Or is FIFA's annual award for a male player who has performed the best in the previous calendar year. The winner is determined by votes from national team coaches and captains, as well as journalists from around the world.

Previous years have seen at least two or three Red Devils on the list, but this year their individual performance hasn't made the cut.

Barcelona has the most players on the shortlist, with Spanish midfielder Andres iniesta, Argentine defender Javier Mascherano, Croatian Ivan Rakitic, Neymar, Luis Suarez and three time winner of the award, Lionel Messi.

The current holder of the award is ex-Manchester United player Cristiano Ronaldo, who has been nominated again along with four other of his Real Madrid team mates.

On 30 November the list will be reduced to just three names, and on 11 January 2016 the winner will be announced.