Patrick Stewart

Patrick Stewart

Today the Edinburgh International Film Festival (EIFF), announced 2010’s Michael Powell Jury in addition to the other six juries deliberating across the Festival’s awards.

Previously announced President of the Michael Powell Jury, acclaimed and beloved actor Sir Patrick Stewart (X Men; Star Trek) will be joined by former Bond girl Britt Ekland (The Wicker Man), director Mike Hodges (Croupier; Get Carter); New York’s Museum of Modern Art’s senior film curator Laurence Kardish and Iranian award-winning director Rafi Pitts (The Hunter; It’s Winter).

Michael Powell Jury President, Sir Patrick Stewart, commented: "I am immensely honoured to be presiding over this year’s Michael Powell Jury in Edinburgh, which I’m sure will be a fascinating cinematic journey, exploring the newest offerings from British filmmakers. I’m also thrilled to be in such excellent company in a beautiful city at a great Festival!"

Named in homage to one of Britain's most original filmmakers and inaugurated in 1993, the Michael Powell Award is sponsored by the UK Film Council and carries a prize of £15,000, one of the largest film awards currently available in the UK.

Rewarding imagination and creativity in British filmmaking, 2009 saw Duncan Jones win The Michael Powell Award for Moon, and the Jury awarded Katie Jarvis the PPG Award for Best Performance in a British Film for Fish Tank.

The nominees for 2010’s Michael Powell Award are: brilliantlove (Ashley Horner); Cherry Tree Lane (Paul Andrew Williams); Huge (Ben Miller); Jackboots On Whitehall (Edward McHenry & Rory McHenry); The Kid (Nick Moran); Mr Nice (Bernard Rose); Ollie Kepler’s Expanding Purple World (Viv Fongenie); Pelican Blood (Karl Golden); Skeletons (Nick Whitfield); and Soulboy (Shimmy Marcus).

The Best International Feature Award will be deliberated by a Jury of three: actor Jason Isaacs (Lucius Malfoy in the Harry Potter franchise); comedian/director Ben Miller (Huge; television’s The Armstrong And Miller Show) and BAFTA winning producer and ex-EIFF Artistic Director Lynda Myles (The Commitments).

This award, in its second year, is newly sponsored by and will be open to features originating outside of the UK, in all sections of the programme, which are receiving their world or international premiere at the Festival, and awards a cash prize of £5000.

The champagne house, Moët & Chandon will sponsor the Moët New Directors Award, which is awarded to a first or second time filmmaker in the Rosebud and British Gala sections, with a cash prize of £5000.

The Moët New Directors Award will be deliberated by a Jury of three: Johanna von Fischer (Director, British Independent Film Awards); film critic and arts journalist Miles Fielder and EIFF Artistic Director Hannah McGill.

The Documentary Jury are: producer Simon Chinn (Man on Wire), award winning journalist and writer Geoff Dyer and Canadian journalist, actress and director Nelofer Pazira (Act of Dishonour), and the Best Feature Documentary Award also carries a cash prize of £5000.

All feature film winners will also receive a personalised magnum of Moët champagne.

EIFF Artistic Director Hannah McGill said: "We have wonderful juries this year - a mix of international celebrities, respected creators, important industry figures and old Festival friends.

"It's a great honour for the filmmakers to have their work assessed by such eminent people, and we hope the juries themselves have a memorable experience immersing themselves in new cinema."

The British Shorts Jury are BFI Head of Content Jane Giles; Jukka-Pekka Laakso from the Tampere Film Festival and Shira Macleod (Riverside Cinema), this award is also sponsored by the UK Film Council and awards a cash prize of £1000.

The International Shorts Jury are shorts sales agent Alexandra Heneka (Internationales KurzFilmAgentur); Philip Ilson, programmer for London Short Film Festival & Branchage Jersey International Film and Damian Spandley (The Works UK Distribution).

The Scottish short documentary Jury are director Alexandre O Philippe (The People vs George Lucas) and Trailblazer and editor Ling Lee (Edge of Dreaming) and a representative of supporters Baillie Gifford.

The Edinburgh International Film Festival 16 - 27 June 2010

Box Office is now open