Kristin Scott Thomas

Kristin Scott Thomas

Kristin Scott Thomas is being honoured with the Dilys Powell Award by the London Film Critics' Circle.

The 'Nowhere Boy' actress will be gifted with the accolade - given by the group for excellence in cinema - at the 31st Critics' Circle Film Awards on February 10 at the BFI Southbank, London, and she says she is "excited" to be given the prize, previously given to stars including Dame Judi Dench, Quentin Tarantino and Richard Attenborough.

She said: "It is very exciting to be included in the illustrious company of those previous recipients.

"I think that film criticism is really important to keep audiences curious about cinema and different types of filmmaking."

'The King's Speech' - about the stuttering British King George VI - and Mike Leigh's critically-acclaimed 'Another Year' lead the nominations at this year's awards, both being named in seven categories.

Facebook movie 'The Social Network' was named in five categories, including Film of the Year and Screenwriter of the Year for Aaron Sorkin.

The Critics' Circle is represented by 120 film critics, broadcasters and writers in the industry.

Complete list of nominees for the 31st London Critics' Circle Film Awards:

Sky Award for Film of the Year:

'Black Swan'

'The Kids Are All Right'

'The King's Speech'

'The Social Network'

'Toy Story 3'

The Attenborough Award: British Film of the Year:

'127 Hours'

'The Arbor'

'Another Year'

'The King's Speech'


Foreign Language Film of the Year:


It is very exciting to be included in the illustrious company of those previous recipients.

'I Am Love'

'Of Gods and Men'

'The Secret in Their Eyes'

'Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives'

Actor of the Year:

Jeff Bridges - 'True Grit'

Jesse Eisenberg - 'The Social Network'

Colin Firth - 'The King's Speech'

Ryan Gosling - 'Blue Valentine'

Edgar Ramirez - 'Carlos'

Actress of the Year:

Annette Bening - 'The Kids Are All Right'

Jennifer Lawrence - 'Winter's Bone'

Natalie Portman - 'Black Swan'

Noomi Rapace - 'The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo'

Hailee Steinfeld - 'True Grit'

British Actor of the Year:

Riz Ahmed - 'Four Lions'

Christian Bale - 'The Fighter'

Jim Broadbent - 'Another Year'

Colin Firth - 'The King's Speech'

Andrew Garfield - 'Never Let Me Go'

British Actress of the Year:

Helena Bonham Carter - 'The King's Speech'

Lesley Manville - 'Another Year'

Rosamund Pike - 'Barney's Version'

Ruth Sheen - 'Another Year'

Tilda Swinton - 'I Am Love'

British Actor in a Supporting Role:

David Bradley - 'Another Year'

Pierce Brosnan - 'The Ghost'

Andrew Garfield - 'The Social Network'

Tom Hardy - 'Inception'

Peter Wight - 'Another Year'

British Actress in a Supporting Role

Helena Bonham Carter - 'Alice in Wonderland'

Christine Bottomley - 'The Arbor'

Minnie Driver - 'Barney's Version'

Rosamund Pike - 'Made in Dagenham'

Olivia Williams - 'The Ghost'

Young British Performer of the Year:

Jessica Barden - 'Tamara Drewe'

Conor McCarron - 'NEDs'

Will Poulter - 'The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader'

Saoirse Ronan - 'The Way Back'

Thomas Turgoose - 'The Scouting Book for Boys'

Director of the Year:

Darren Aronofsky - 'Black Swan'

Joel Coen & Ethan Coen - 'True Grit'

David Fincher - 'The Social Network'

Christopher Nolan - 'Inception'

Apichatpong Weerasethakul - 'Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives'

British Director of the Year:

Clio Barnard - 'The Arbor'

Danny Boyle - '127 Hours'

Tom Hooper - 'The King's Speech'

Mike Leigh - 'Another Year'

Christopher Nolan - 'Inception'

Screenwriter of the Year:

Lisa Cholodenko & Stuart Blumberg - 'The Kids Are All Right'

Joel Coen & Ethan Coen - 'True Grit'

Chris Morris, Sam Bain, Simon Blackwell & Jesse Armstrong - 'Four Lions'

David Seidler - 'The King's Speech'

Aaron Sorkin - 'The Social Network'

Breakthrough British Filmmaker:

Banksy - 'Exit Through the Gift Shop'

Clio Barnard - 'The Arbor'

J Blakeson - 'The Disappearance of Alice Creed'

Gareth Edwards - 'Monsters'

Chris Morris - 'Four Lions'