Mixmag is asking dance music fans around the world to vote in the only DJ poll that matters: The Greatest DJ Of All Time, and we want YOUR views….

Launching on 16 September, everyone who loves dance music and DJ culture is given the chance to make their vote in what is being dubbed as the dance music equivalent of the BBC’s ‘Great Britons’ series.

A shortlist of 35 DJs has been put together, and each nominee has been chosen by another huge name from the world of dance music, so take a look at the list below and let us know your thoughts.

Full list of nominees for ‘Greatest DJ Ever’

2ManyDJs (championed by Jaymo and Andy George)
Alfredo (championed by Danny Rampling)
Andrew Weatherall (championed by Erol Alkan)
Andy C (championed by Sub Focus
Carl Cox (championed by Yousef)
David Mancuso (championed by Dany Krivit)
Derrick Carter (championed by Raf Rundell of Two Bears)
Eddie Halliwell (championed by Judge Jules)
Erick Morillo (championed by Sebastian Ingrosso of Swedish House Mafia)
Erol Alkan (championed by David Dewaele of Soulwax / 2ManyDJs)
Fabio & Grooverider (championed by Technicolour)
Fatboy Slim (championed by Hervé)
Felix Da Housecat (championed by Kris Menace)
Francis Grasso (championed by Frank Broughton)
Francois Kevorkian (championed by Mala)
Frankie Knuckles (championed by Terry Farley)
Grandmaster Flash (championed by Niall Dailly of Jack Beats / Scratch Perverts)
Hatcha (championed by Artwork)
Jazzy Jeff (championed by A-Trak)
Jeff Mills (championed by Slam)
Jimmy Saville (championed by Bill Brewster)
Kool Herc (championed by Dominic Butler of Stanton Warriors)
Larry Levan (championed by Arthur Baker)
Laurent Garnier (championed by Layo Paskin of Layo and Bushwacka!)
DJ Marky (championed by Smithy of Total Science)
Optimo (championed by Mylo)
Paul Oakenfold (championed by Above & Beyond)
Paul van Dyk (championed by Gareth Emery)
QBert (championed by DJ Yoda)
Ricardo Villalobos (championed by Craig Richardson)
Richie Hawtin (championed by Seth Troxler)
Sasha (championed by James Zabiela)
Sven Vath (championed by Loco Dice)
Tiesto (championed by Sander van Doorn)
Tony De Vit (championed by Fergie)

Voting will be open until midnight on 15th December, with the final result announced in the February 2011 issue of Mixmag.

Tagged in