Taylor Swift was last night crowned Artist of the Year at the annual iHeart Radio Music Awards. The singer beat off competition from Ariana Grande, Sam Smith, Luke Bryan and Iggy Azalea to win the award and take home the prize from LA's Shrine Auditorium.

Taylor Swift

Taylor Swift

The Best Lyrics Award also went to Taylor for her smash hit single 'Blank Space', and Best Song went to her track 'Shake It Off'.

Looking emotional as she received the prizes, she thanked her fans for the support they give her, stating: "More than anything in the world, I just hope that any of the fans watching know how much I adore you ... we've gotten closer and closer with each year, not further apart. Like, you make me so happy."

As well as bagging herself the prizes, Taylor took to the stage for a surprise performance and accompanied Madonna on guitar as she sang her new track 'Ghost Town'.

Justin Timberlake was also honoured at the ceremony with the innovator award - which was presented to him by fashion designer Tom Ford - while Sam Smith was crowned Best New Artist.

iHeart Radio Music Awards 2015 winners list:

Artist of the Year: Taylor Swift

Song of the Year: Taylor Swift - Shake it Off

Best New Artist: Sam Smith

Best Lyrics: Taylor Swift - Blank Space

Hip Hop/R&B Song of the Year: Jeremih featuring YG - Don't tell 'em

Country Song of the Year: Jason Aldean - Burnin' It Down

Best Fan Army: 5SOSFAM -- 5 Seconds of Summer

Best Collaboration: Jessie J, Ariana Grande and Nicki Minaj - Bang Bang

Renegade: Brantley Gilbert

Alternative Rock Song of the Year: Hozier - Take Me to Church