Bon Jovi reunited for their induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame on Saturday (14.04.18).

Jon Bon Jovi

Jon Bon Jovi

The original line-up of the band, Jon Bon Jovi, David Bryan, Tico Torres, Richie Sambora, Alec John Such, and Hugh McDonald all took to the stage in Cleveland to accept the accolade, which they finally received in their 10th year of eligibility.

After being inducted by DJ Howard Stern, frontman Jon said: "I've been writing a speech like this since I first strummed a broom and sang from the top of the stairs of my childhood home.

"I've written it many ways and many times. Some days, I write the 'Thank you' speech. Other days, I write the 'F**k you' speech. Writing it has been therapeutic in a lot of ways. I certainly see things differently tonight than I would have 10, 20, 30 years ago. In the end, it's really all about time."

And Richie, who quit the group in 2013, was "very proud" to be back with his former bandmates.

He said: "I'm very proud to be inducted with these guys. If I wrote a book, it would be the best time I ever had."

The original group, along with current members Phil X, John Shanks and Everett Bradley, then teamed up to perform 'You Give Love a Bad Name', 'It's My Life', 'When We Were Us' and 'Livin' on a Prayer'.

And speaking afterwards, Richie hinted he'd be open to making a more permanent return to the fold.

Asked about the possibility of a further reunion, Jon said: "I think Richie's got a solo career, you know? I think you'll have to ask him."

But Richie replied: "If he asked me."

The Moody Blues, the Cars, Dire Straits, Nina Simone and Sister Rosetta Tharpe were also inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The ceremony will be broadcast in the US next month.