Molly represents the UK

Molly represents the UK

The first of two Eurovision 2014 semi-finals took place last night, as Russia was amongst the countries taking a place in the Grand Final lineup, airing on Saturday, May 10, though the announcement that they'd got through was met with boos from the crowd.

Montenegro and San Marino secured their spot for the first time ever in the competition, and will join the UK, France, Italy, Spain, Germany and host country Denmark who are already in the final.

Armenia's Aram MP3, Hungary's András Kállay-Saunder, Azerbaijan's Dilara Kazimova, Ukraine's Mariya Yaremchuk, Sweden's Sanna Nielsen, Iceland's Pollaponk and The Netherlands' The Common Linnets all also progressed.

That means that Latvia, Estonia, Albania, Belgium, Moldova and Portugal are all now out of the competition.

The second Eurovision semi final takes place on Thursday May 8 ahead of the Grand Final on May 10.

Tomorrow's semi final airs live on BBC Three at 8pm, and the Grand Final starts at 8pm on BBC One this Saturday.

by for
find me on and follow me on