BBC Radio 1's Live Lounge 2013

BBC Radio 1's Live Lounge 2013

Radio 1 have released another compilation of some of this year's Live Lounge performances.

The two-disc 2013 offering contains music from acts including Rudimental, Robin Thicke, Olly Murs and Rita Ora covering other artists tracks - which are at times a bit hit and miss - or acoustic versions of their own big tracks.

Misses include Ellie Goulding trying to tackle Justin Timberlake's 'Mirrors' - it just doesn't work - and Vampire Weekend's take on Robin Thicke and Pharrell Williams' 'Blurred Lines' borders on creepy.

There are those that impress though. K Koke feat. Daley shows 'Impossible' is a track that not only Shontelle and James Arthur can bring some life to, and Rizzle Kicks singing 'Summertime Sadness' is refreshing.

You may find yourself reaching for the skip track button a few times, but ultimately it's a nice little collection of tunes from some of the biggest names around.

'BBC Radio 1's Live Lounge 2013' is released Monday October 28.

by for
find me on and follow me on