Game Of Thrones

Game Of Thrones

To chime with the 5th March DVD and Blu-ray release of Game of Thrones: Season 1, Den of Geek has unravelled the secrets of each of the families. Sit back, relax, and let us do the hard work for you!

- House Stark

House Stark of Winterfell trace their ancestry back to the First Men.

Winterfell is the most important house in the North, and other houses show sincere deference to them.

The Starks still worship the Old Gods and continue to follow many of their ancient traditions. For thousands of years the Stark’s ruled the North, but now they are simply Wardens of the North for the Seven Kingdoms.

The Stark family’s downfall is a consequence of losing the Targaryen conquest.

Their family crest is a grey direwolf with the words 'Winter Is Coming'.

- House Baratheon

The House of Baratheon was formed after the battle of Aegon Targaryen, by Orys Baratheon. The Baratheons trace their heritage from the Storm Kings and the female side of the family.

After Robert’s Rebellion, the Baratheon’s claimed the Iron throne and instructed House Stark and House Lannister, among others, to assist their dominance.

The house’s sigil is a black crowned stag on a gold background, which emblazons the quote, 'Ours Is the Fury'.

- House Lannister

The ruling house of the Westerlands, House Lannister is only permitted this position because they surrendered to the in the Targaryen conquest and were thus allowed to remain as wardens for House Targaryen.

The Lannisters originate from Andal adventurers, who invaded and then married the daughters of the King of the Rock.

Their crest is a gold lion on a crimson background, and the emblem is inscribed with 'Hear Me Roar.' The family also has an unofficial saying, which is, 'A Lannister always pay his debts.'

- House Targaryen

Descendents of the ancient civilisation, Valyria, the Targaryens brought violent dragons to the continent and live on the island of Dragonstone.

After a few centuries, Aegon Targaryen and his sisters implemented their authority on the continent in the conquest of the Seven Kingdoms.

House Targaryen ruled for 300 years until they were banished during Robert’s Rebellion. The Targaryen’s wish to keep their race pure - and brothers and sisters marry to ensure this.

Their sigil depicts a three-headed dragon, which breathes fire across the words 'Fire and Blood'.

Tagged in