'This Morning' will be honoured by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) next month.

Holly Willoughby and Phillip Schofield

Holly Willoughby and Phillip Schofield

The ITV daytime programme celebrates three decades on the air this year, and to mark the occasion the academy will pay tribute with a special show October 1, where the award will be handed out.

Krishnendu Majumdar, chair of BAFTA's Television Committee, said: "For 30 years, the talent, innovation and boldness of 'This Morning' has made it an exceptional contribution to television. BAFTA is delighted to be recognising the programme's achievements at a special tribute event and wish it every continued success."

The show is currently hosted by beloved duo Holly Willoughby and Phillip Schofield, who will be joined by previous presenters Richard Madeley and Judy Finnigan as guest speakers at the Tribute at BAFTA event.

The prize is being given in recognition of the show's "creative and innovative approach to daytime television production", along with its wide appeal with viewers, and for helping launch the careers of many people working in the industry.

At the ceremony, there will be contributions from talent involved in the show over the past 30 years, along with special video interviews, archive clips and the presentation of the Special Award.

Jane Beacon and Clare Ely, heads of ITV Daytime, added: "It is a huge honour for 'This Morning' to receive this special BAFTA award during its 30th year, and we feel immensely proud of the whole team for this well-deserved recognition within the industry."

Over the years, 'This Morning' has been nominated in both the Digital Creativity (2011, 2012 and 2014) and Talk Show (1996) categories at BAFTA's Television Craft Awards and Television Awards respectively.