Coronation Street's Connor McIntyre is among the stars who are in with a chance of landing the Best Actor prize at the British Soap Awards.

Connor McIntyre

Connor McIntyre

The former 'Murder City' star - who plays evil serial killer Pat Phelan - is among 14 other soap stars on the longlist for the chance to win the accolade at this year's ceremony, alongside fellow 'Corrie' actors Jack P. Shepherd (David Platt) and Shayne Ward, who is soon to leave his role as Aidan Connor.

'Emmerdale' stars Jeff Hordley (Cain Dingle), Michael Parr (Ross Barton) and Ryan Hawley (Robert Sugden) will also be hoping to make the Best Actor shortlist, but Ryan's on-screen lover Danny Miller (Aaron Dingle) misses out.

'EastEnders' trio Steve McFadden (Phil Mitchell), Richard Blackwood (Vincent Hubbard) and Danny Dyer (Mick Carter), whose characters were all part of a botched Albert Square heist earlier this year, also have longlist nods.

'Hollyoaks' have three actors with a chance of triumphing in the category with Gary Lucy (Luke Morgan) set to challenge co-stars Theo Graham (Hunter McQueen) and Richard Linnell (Alfie Nightingale).

'Doctors' actors Matthew Chambers (Dr. Daniel Granger), Owen Brenman (Heston Carter) and Ashley Rice (Sid Vere) also have nods.

'Coronation Street' star Bhavna Limbachia, who plays Rana Nazir, is up for the Best Actress longlist but her on-screen lover Faye Brookes, who plays Kate Connor, doesn't have a nod.

Bhavna is in good company though as Lucy Fallon - who has been involved in some hard-hitting scenes over the past 12 months with her character Bethany Platt involved in a grooming storyline - and Catherine Tyldesley, who is leaving the cobbles, could also win the award.

EastEnders' Lacey Turner (Stacey Slater) could celebrate the recent return of her on-screen siblings by taking home the Best Actress trophy, but she may have to do battle against co-stars Letitia Dean (Sharon Mitchell) and Diane Parish (Denise Fox), with both making the longlist.

Anna Passey (Sienna Blake), Harvey Virdi (Mibah Maalik) and Amy Conachan (Courtney Campbell) all represent 'Hollyoaks' as they bid to win the Best Actress gong, but Natalie J. Robb (Moira Dingle) is among the 'Emmerdale' stars who could stand in their way.

As are on-screen siblings Emma Atkins and Lucy Pargeter, who play sisters Charity and Chas Dingle respectively.

'Doctors' actresses Elisabeth Dermot Walsh (Dr Zara Carmichael), Jan Pearson (Karen Hollins) and Bharti Patel (Ruhma Carter) complete the Best Actress longlist nods.

As usual, 'EastEnders', 'Coronation Street', 'Emmerdale', 'Doctors' and 'Hollyoaks' all make the list for Best British Soap.

Fans can vote for Best Actor, Best Actress and Best British Soap online, but other categories, including Villain of the Year, Best Single Episode, Best Male Dramatic Performance, Best Female Dramatic Performance, Best Comedy Performance and Best Young Actor will be judged by an expert panel.

What's more, the Scene of the Year, Best On-Screen Partnership, Best Newcomer and Best Storyline winners will be chosen by the experts.

The British Soap Awards will take place later this year.

British Soap Awards 2018 Longlist Nominations:

Best Actor

Connor McIntyre - 'Coronation Street'

Jack P. Shepherd - 'Coronation Street'

Shayne Ward - 'Coronation Street'

Jeff Hordley - 'Emmerdale'

Michael Parr - 'Emmerdale'

Ryan Hawley - 'Emmerdale'

Gary Lucy - 'Hollyoaks'

Theo Graham - 'Hollyoaks'

Richard Linnell - 'Hollyoaks'

Steve McFadden - 'EastEnders'

Richard Blackwood - 'EastEnders'

Danny Dyer - 'EastEnders'

Matthew Chambers - 'Doctors'

Owen Brenman - 'Doctors'

Ashley Rice - 'Doctors'

Best Actress

Bhavna Limbachia - 'Coronation Street'

Lucy Fallon - 'Coronation Street'

Catherine Tyldesley - 'Coronation Street'

Anna Passey - 'Hollyoaks'

Harvey Virdi - 'Hollyoaks'

Amy Conachan - 'Hollyoaks'

Natalie J. Robb - 'Emmerdale'

Emma Atkins - 'Emmerdale'

Lucy Pargeter - 'Emmerdale'

Lacey Turner - 'EastEnders'

Letitia Dean - 'EastEnders'

Diane Parish - 'EastEnders'

Elisabeth Dermot Walsh - 'Doctors'

Jan Pearson - 'Doctors'

Bharti Patel - 'Doctors'

Best Soap

'Coronation Street'