'Coronation Street' leads the nods at The British Soap Awards with 16 nominations, with Connor McIntyre up for four prizes.

Connor McIntyre

Connor McIntyre

The 'Corrie' star is up for Best Actor, Villain of the Year, Best Male Dramatic Performance and Best Storyline for his role as evil serial killer Pat Phelan in the ITV soap.

Connor will do battle with fellow cobbles resident Jack P Shepherd (David Platt) for the Best Actor accolade, but they will face stiff competition from Emmerdale's Ryan Hawley (Robert Sugden) and Mike Parr (Ross Barton), as well as Hollyoaks' Theo Graham (Hunter McQueen).

Corrie's Lucy Fallon will be hoping to pick up an award at the upcoming ceremony - which will be broadcast live for the first time in its 20-year history - as she is up for a hat-trick of accolades, including a nod in the Best Actress category for her part as Bethany Platt.

She will do battle with 'Corrie' co-star Catherine Tyldesley (Eva Price), as well as EastEnders' Lacey Turner (Stacey Fowler), 'Emmerdale' actress Emma Atkins (Charity Dingle) and Hollyoaks' Anna Passey (Sienna Blake) in the category.

Lucy is also up for Best Female Dramatic Performance, and Scene of the Year for her character's harrowing grooming plot.

Despite missing out on a Best Actor nod, EastEnders' Jake Wood is nominated for two individual prizes at the Soap Awards for his portrayal of Walford hard-man Max Branning, as well as three joint prizes.

He will go up against Connor for Villain of the Year, alongside Emmerdale's Gillian Kearney (Emma Barton), Doctors' Ryan Prescott (Liam Slade) and 'Hollyoaks' star David Easter as Mac Nightingale.

Jake also has a nod in the Best Male Dramatic Performance category, against Connor once again, as well as Doctors' Chris Walker (Rob Hollins).

The trio will take on Emmerdale's Jeff Hordley - who plays hard-man Cain Dingle - and Hollyoaks' Ross Adams (Scott Drinkwell).

Jake's on-screen former lover Lacey is up for Best Female Dramatic Performance alongside Jeff's 'Emmerdale' significant other Natalie J. Robb (Moira Dingle).

They will face tough competition from Lucy, Hollyoaks' Nadine Mulkerrin (Cleo McQueen), and 'Doctors' actress Laura Rollins (Ayesha Lee).

It could be a successful night for Jake and Lacey as the 'EastEnders' pair are also up for the joint Best On-Screen Partnership gong, against Corrie's Bahavna Limbachia and Faye Brookes, who play lesbian couple Rana Nazir and Kate Connor.

Doctors' Matthew Chambers and Elisabeth Dermot Walsh (Dr Daniel Granger and Dr Zara Carmichael), 'Emmerdale' actors Ned Porteous and Andrew Scarborough (Joe Tate and Graham Foster), and Hollyoaks' Malique Thompson-Dwyer and Theo (Prince McQueen and Hunter) also have nods.

To celebrate the British Soap Awards' 20th year there is a special one-off Greatest Moment category, which sees classic soap scenes nominated for an accolade.

'EastEnders' famous "you ain't my mother" scene, in which Jessie Wallace's alter-ego Kat Moon shocked her daughter Zoe Slater (Michelle Ryan) by revealing she was in fact her mum rather than her sister in 2001, is up for a nod in the category.

Emmerdale's tragic Hotten By-Pass Crash in 2016 is up for the gong, as is and Jade (Kassius Nelson) saying goodbye to Alfie (Richard Linnell ) in 'Hollyoaks' in the same year.

Corrie's Richard Hillman (Brian Capron) driving his family into the canal in 2003 is nominated for the one-off award, as is Vivien's (Anita Carey) rape in 'Doctors' in 2008.

'Coronation Street', 'Doctors', 'EastEnders', 'Emmerdale' and 'Hollyoaks' will do battle in the Best British Soap category, and the Outstanding Achievement Award and the Tony Warren Award will be announced on the night.

The British Soap Awards hosted by Phillip Schofield at London's The Hackney Empire, and the date of the ceremony will be announced later this month.

The British Soap Awards 2018 nominations:

Best British Soap

Coronation Street





Best Actor

Coronation Street: Jack P Shepherd (David Platt)

Coronation Street: Connor McIntyre (Pat Phelan)

Emmerdale: Ryan Hawley (Robert Sugden)

Hollyoaks: Theo Graham (Hunter McQueen)

Emmerdale: Michael Parr (Ross Barton)

Best Actress

Coronation Street: Catherine Tyldesley (Eva Price)

Coronation Street: Lucy Fallon (Bethany Platt)

EastEnders: Lacey Turner (Stacey Fowler)

Emmerdale: Emma Atkins (Charity Dingle)

Hollyoaks: Anna Passey (Sienna Blake)

Greatest Moment

Coronation Street: Richard Hillman Drives His Family Into Canal (2003)

Doctors: Vivien's Rape (2008)

EastEnders: 'You Ain't My Mother' (2001)

Emmerdale: Hotten By-Pass Crash (2016)

Hollyoaks: Jade Says Goodbye To Alfie (2016)

Villain Of The Year

Coronation Street: Connor McIntyre (Pat Phelan)

Doctors: Ryan Prescott (Liam Slade)

EastEnders: Jake Wood (Max Branning)

Emmerdale: Gillian Kearney (Emma Barton)

Hollyoaks: David Easter (Mac Nightingale)

Best Comedy Performance

Coronation Street: Louiza Patikas (Moira Pollock)

Doctors: Ian Midlane (Dr Al Haskey)

EastEnders: Nitin Ganatra (Masood Ahmed)

Emmerdale: Sally Dexter (Faith Dingle)

Hollyoaks: Nicole Barber Lane (Myra McQueen)

Best Newcomer

Coronation Street: Nicola Thorp (Nicola Rubenstein)

Doctors: Reis Bruce (Austin Lonsdale)

EastEnders: Lorraine Stanley (Karen Taylor)

Emmerdale: Andrew Scarborough (Graham Foster)

Hollyoaks: Lauren McQueen (Lily Hutchinson)

Best Storyline

Coronation Street: Phelan's Reign Of Terror

Doctors: Consequences

EastEnders: Karma For Max

Emmerdale: Who Killed Emma?

Hollyoaks: Lily's Self Harm

Best Single Episode

Coronation Street: Eva and Aidan's Wedding Debacle

Doctors: Stop All The Clocks

EastEnders: Max's Last Stand

Emmerdale: Cain and Faith Flashback Episode

Hollyoaks: Three Mother's, Three Daughters

Best Male Dramatic Performance

Coronation Street: Connor McIntyre (Pat Phelan)

Doctors: Chris Walker (Rob Hollins)

EastEnders: Jake Wood (Max Branning)

Emmerdale: Jeff Hordley (Cain Dingle)

Hollyoaks: Ross Adams (Scott Drinkwell)

Best Female Dramatic Performance

Coronation Street: Lucy Fallon (Bethany Platt)

Doctors: Laura Rollins (Ayesha Lee)

EastEnders: Lacey Turner (Stacey Fowler)

Emmerdale: Natalie J Robb (Moira Dingle)

Hollyoaks: Nadine Mulkerrin (Cleo McQueen)

Best On-Screen Partnership

Coronation Street: Bahavna Limbachia and Faye Brookes (Rana Nazir and Kate Connor)

Doctors: Matthew Chambers and Elisabeth Dermot Walsh (Dr Daniel Granger and Dr Zara Carmichael)

EastEnders: Jake Wood and Lacey Turner (Max Branning and Stacey Fowler)

Emmerdale: Ned Porteous and Andrew Scarborough (Joe Tate and Graham Foster)

Hollyoaks: Malique Thompson-Dwyer and Theo Graham (Prince McQueen and Hunter McQueen)

Best Young Actor

Coronation Street: Matilda Freeman (Summer Spellman)

EastEnders: Maisie Smith (Tiffany Butcher)

Emmerdale: Isobel Steele (Liv Flaherty)

Hollyoaks: Ela May Demircan (Leah Barnes)

Scene Of The Year

Coronation Street: The Grooming Of Bethany

Doctors: Bollywood Proposal

EastEnders: Lauren and Abi's Rooftop Fall

Emmerdale: Emma Meets Her Fate

Hollyoaks: Scott's Suicide Note

Tagged in