Artist: Matt Cardle

Album: The Fire

Label: Silva Screen Records

OUT NOW

Rating: 2.5/5

After the success of his debut solo record Letters in 2011 Matt Cardle is back this week with his new record The Fire.

It’s Only Love is the opening track to the record and it has an upbeat feel to it with a rockier edge compared to the material that he has put out before.

He has kept the guitar and the piano melody straight forward and in doing so created a catchy and very radio friendly track.

The Fire and For Every Heartbreak he channels a more pop/soft rock sound while he brings the pace right down with Water.

Water is possibly the standout track on the record as it is the most emotional and moving as Cardle pours everything he has into this song.

Cardle shows off his range beautifully with this track and the top end of his voice really is very good - not to mention powerful.

The singer/songwriter has drawn from personal experiences when writing some of these tracks and All That Matters is the best demonstration of this.

This is the only track that Cardle has written on his own for this album and is about the difficulties he had in his last relationship.

It is the most emotional that we hear Cardle on this track as he opens his heart and how he was feeling at time and lets people in.

There is no doubt that Cardle has a great voice but this collection of tracks are all just a little bit too similar and really lacks that something that will make you sit up and take note.

This is a perfectly adequate pop album but Cardle hasn’t really done anything to make himself stand out from the whole host of solo male albums that have been released so far this year.

Having said that there is more of a heartfelt feel to this record and he has also had a hand in penning the tracks and so you feel like there is more of his in this collection of songs.

Matt Cardle fans will be delighted to see him back with some new material but for none fans listening to this record it will leave them under whelmed.

Matt Cardle - The Fire is out now

Click here to buy Matt Cardle - The Fire

FemaleFirst Helen Earnshaw


by for www.femalefirst.co.uk
find me on and follow me on twitter

  1. by Charlie 29th Oct 2012 11:07

    Apart from anything else - he wrote or co-wrote nine of the ten songs - not 6?? Love the album myself - think there's a variety of song and the only reason it's hard to find a stand out track is because they all are!

  2. by Kim 29th Oct 2012 15:43

    I love this album and think it will win over new fans! 5/5 :)

  3. by MaryAnn 29th Oct 2012 16:19

    Reviews are always always subjective aren't they? And they are never really reviews, they are just one person's opinion. What always amazes me is that opinions get published as being so important. Everyone has an opinion. I've read your "opinion", now here is my "review":
    This new album from Matt Cardle is a genius creation. Not only is each song different in it's tempo, they are all lyrically different in their composition and in their meaning. The instrumentation, having been done almost completely by Matt himself, lends volume and depth to each track and builds each one exactly where it should. The backing vocals, again done mainly by Matt, are laid over his singular vocal in a way that allows the lyrics to "breathe" and take you thru each track like a journey. This is by far the best creative piece of work to come out of the UK in quite a while.
    And no, I do not watch your talent shows and did not discover Matt that way and I do not live in the UK.
    Next time you do a "review", please make sure you do a "review" and not just an "opinion piece". Like I said before, everyone has an opinion and I don't want to waste my time reading someone elses.

  4. by TimCamp 30th Oct 2012 00:20

    I couldnt disagree more... Whilst I love MC's music it is despite not because of XF. Every single track is IMO A STANDOUT track , different tempos, instrumentation BV's etc. I challenge anyone to honestly listen to the album and not find at least some songs to move them. For me there are 14 such tracks on the Deluxe version.

  5. by Mark Harker 30th Oct 2012 02:27

    One reviewer says it is too diverse, another says it is not diverse enough. Just shows the obsurdity of reviews. It is not like the old days when you bought an album based entirely on a single that you heard on the radio. You can listen to previews on any record sales website or in Matt's case watch videos of him performing the songs live at Scala on Youtube. So why would I do anything based on someone elses opinion?

  6. by Carol 30th Oct 2012 14:02

    I,too, couldn't disagree more with your summing up. This is an outstanding album, full of contrast. My biggest problem is selecting favourite tracks when they are all superb. 5/5 for me.

  7. by Tess 08th Nov 2012 14:32

    You listened to it once didnt you? Thats the problem with 'reviews' not to mention the personal tastes of the reviewer

    Well take it from me it needs more than a listen. Give it a few spins and you're addicted. My friend bought it last week and played it a few times when I was over for coffee. (she's a fan). I didnt even like Matt Cardle. Now - Ive been to Tescos and bought the album because it is brilliant! There are so many catchy memorable songs on there that really do peel off and distinguish themselves when heard a few times.

    I cannot stop singing Anyone Else. Its one of the best sons Ive heard for ages! I actually couldnt BELIEVE this review when I saw it.

    Helen - I know its all about personal opinions but I really cant believe you gave this album a fair chance when you came up with a conclusion like that.

  8. by brigita 10th Nov 2012 11:40

    I flew to London because of Matt's gig in Scala from the Czech republic. I love gigs and festivals chr(226)chr(128)chr(147) I enjoyed a lot of amazing musicians (Zaz, Bobby McFerrin, Fink, Janelle Monae, Parov Stelar, The Flaming Lips, Mogwai, Rain Machine, Cedric Watson, Fernando Saunders, Santigold chr(226)chr(128)chr(166)..) and in good conscience I say that Matt is the best Ichr(226)chr(128)chr(153)ve experienced. He has an incredible sincerity in his expression. His voice and music is more than great.
    I'm not naive - Mat chose a path that will not be easy - nowadays they are popular trained monkeys that make a big circus - the quality of singing is often the last place.
    Chart? I already know that this doesn't mean quality.
    Critics? Who knows, so creates - who doesn't know, so stupidly criticizes.
    Victory in the XF certainly brought something positive, but also rather negative (prejudice type - male winner always falls down). Yes I agree - he probably will never be as famous as 1D, Olly ....... because he doesn't obtrusive pop.
    But the Fire is a really great album that offers something more than just good music. Yes - I applaud his album because I'm his fan - but before I became his fan, he had to offer something to me - and he offered more than I expected.
    Don't let the prejudices win - he's really good and deserves your attention.I personally recommend the deluxe version - 4 amazing songs in addition.
    Sorry for my English - I hope you can understand it - I would like to write more - but my English is very poor
    And I also do not watch talent shows and did not discover Matt that way and I do not live in the UK.

  9. by brigita 11th Nov 2012 07:23

    I flew to London because of Matt's gig in Scala from the Czech republic. I love gigs and festivals chr(226)chr(128)chr(147) I enjoyed a lot of amazing musicians (Zaz, Bobby McFerrin, Fink, Janelle Monae, Parov Stelar, The Flaming Lips, Mogwai, Rain Machine, Cedric Watson, Fernando Saunders, Santigold chr(226)chr(128)chr(166)..) and in good conscience I say that Matt is one of the best Ichr(226)chr(128)chr(153)ve experienced. He has an incredible sincerity in his expression. His voice and music is more than great.
    I'm not naive - Mat chose a path that will not be easy - nowadays they are popular trained monkeys that make a big circus - the quality of singing is often on the last place.
    Chart? I already know that this doesn't mean quality.
    Critics? Who knows, so creates - who doesn't know, so stupidly criticizes.
    Victory in the XF certainly brought something positive, but also rather negative (prejudice type - male winner always falls down).
    Yes I agree - he probably will never be as famous as 1D, Olly ....... because he doesn't obtrusive pop.
    But the Fire is a really great album that offers something more than just good music. Yes - I applaud his album because I'm his fan - but before I became his fan, he had to offer something to me - and he offered more than I expected. He's really good and deserves our attention. I personally recommend the deluxe version - 4 amazing songs in addition. Sorry for my English - I hope you can understand it - I would like to write more - but my English is very poor
    I also don't watch talent shows and didn't discover Matt that way and I don't live in the UK (with regard to my English, it's more than obvious).