Lauren Ridloff has been named among BAFTA's Breakthrough stars for 2020.

Lauren Ridloff

Lauren Ridloff

The 42-year-old actress - who played Connie in 'The Walking Dead' - has been included on the Academy's list of 34 of the most promising future stars of film, games and TV in the UK and US.

BAFTA Breakthrough is a new initiative that showcases and supports the next generation of talent, and also includes the likes of actor Youssef Kerkour, actress Tamara Lawrance and writer Aadip Desai, all of whom have been chosen by a panel of experts.

Amanda Berry, the chief executive of BAFTA, said: "We are thrilled to be announcing our first ever BAFTA Breakthrough participants in the USA alongside those for our seventh year in the UK.

"This year's cohort is such a strong and inclusive list, revealing the future stars of our industries."

Amanda explained that Netflix has played an important role in helping to expand the concept.

She said: "We are delighted to be partnering with Netflix again this year which is supporting the global expansion of Breakthrough into the USA and India.

"Netflix shares our vision to raise awareness of and celebrate emerging talent from an array of different backgrounds and cultures."

Other rising stars included on the BAFTA Breakthrough list include Jordan Hogg, the director of the comedy-drama 'Ackley Bridge', and Edson Oda, who helmed the supernatural drama 'Nine Days'.

The BAFTA Breakthrough participants will each receive one-to-one mentoring and career guidance as part of the initiative.

They will also get full voting membership of BAFTA, access to BAFTA events and networking opportunities in the UK and overseas.

The initiative was initially known as Breakthrough Brits and since launching in the UK in 2013, it has championed over 130 talented newcomers, including big-name stars such as Letitia Wright and Florence Pugh.

BAFTA Breakthrough participants 2020:


Abigail Dankwa, Multi Camera Director ('Love Song')

Aleem Khan, Director / Writer ('After Love')

Ali Tocher, Game Audio Designer ('Surgeon Simulator 2')

Amir El-Masry, Performer ('Limbo')

Ben Sharrock & Irune Gurtubai, Director / Writer & Producer ('Limbo')

Bethany Swan, Hair and Makeup up Designer ('I May Destroy You')

Bim Ajadi, Director ('Here Not Here')

Bukky Bakray, Performer ('Rocks')

Catherine Unger, Artist/Co-Writer ('Tangle Tower')

Chella Ramanan, Narrative Designer/Writer ('Before I Forget')

Claire Bromley, External Game Producer ('Sackboy: A Big Adventure')

Jordan Hogg, Director ('Ackley Bridge')

Joy Gharoro-Akpojotor, Producer ('Blue Story')

Lea Schönfelder, Lead Game Designer ('Assemble With Care')

Linn Waite & Kate Byers, Producers ('Bait')

Rina Yang, Cinematographer ('Sitting in Limbo')

Rubika Shah, Director/Writer ('White Riot')

Ruka Johnson, Costume Designer ('Blue Story')

Tamara Lawrance, Performer ('The Long Song')

Tim Renkow, Writer/Performer ('Jerk')

Youssef Kerkour, Performer ('Home')


Aadip Desai, Writer ('The Goldbergs')

Arnaldo Licea, Game Designer ('The Last of Us Part II')

Edson Oda, Director / Writer ('Nine Days')

Ekwa Msangi, Director / Writer ('Farewell Amor')

Fernando Reyes Medina, Multiplayer Designer ('Halo Infinite')

Gene Back, Composer ('Cowboys')

Jim LeBrecht, Co-Director ('Crip Camp')

Lauren Ridloff, Performer ('Eternals, The Walking Dead')

Mary Kenney, Game Writer ('Spider-Man: Miles Morales')

Nicole Newnham, Co-Director ('Crip Camp')

Shannon DeVido, Performer ('Insatiable', 'Difficult People')

Tagged in