AC/DC are one of the greatest rock and roll bands of all time and they return this week with their new record Live From River Plate - their first live album in over a decade.

To celebrate the release of this fantastic new album - seriously it is not one to miss if you are a fan of the band - we take a look at some of the band’s best records.

- Back In Black

It was back in 1980 when Back In Black was released and it is widely regarded as the band’s greatest album however it would be an album that Bon Scott would not see finished as he died during the recording of the record.

The album contains some of the band’s biggest hits including Back In Black, Hells Bells, Shoot To Thrill and You Shook Me All Night Long.

AC/DC’s sixth studio album is not only regarded as one of their best but one of the greatest rock and roll albums of all time.

The record was dedicated to Bon Scott and has sold in excess of fifty million copies worldwide to date.

- Highway To Hell

In 1979 the band released Highway To Hell and it was to be the last album that Bon Scott would see released.

Tracks such as Highway To Hell, Touch Too Much and If You Want Blood (You’ve Got It) came from this album and they soon became fan’s favourites at gigs.

While the band had enjoyed success prior to this record Highway To Hell was the album that propelled the forward as it was the first album to break the US Top 100 - reaching #17.

The album was to go seven times Platinum in the States and gold in the UK.

- Let There Be Rock

In 1977 AC/DC released their fourth studio album in the form of Let There Be Rock which came just a year after Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap.

Let There Be Rock, Dog Eat Dog and Whole Lotta Rosie were just some of the tracks off the album and these three in particular are still as popular thirty years on.

Angus Young, Malcolm Young and Bon Scott penned all of the tracks on the album that was met well upon release.  

- High Voltage

High Voltage was the debut album by rockers AC/DC and it was released in their native Australia back in 1975.

However internationally High Voltage was a combination of the original Australian release and the band’s next album T.N.T - which was released in Australia only.

She’s Got Balls and Little Lover were the only songs from the original recording that made it on to the international version of the album.

While this was far from their most successful record High Voltage was a great introduction to this rock and roll band.

- Powerage

In 1978 the band were back with their fourth international studio album Powerage - and album that was to be re-released back in 2003 as part of the Remasters series.

Angus Young, Malcolm Young and Bon Scott were once again behind the writing of the tracks and Rock N’ Roll Damnation , Down Payment Blues and Up To My Neck In You were all included on the record.

The album is regarded as one of the best rock albums of all time with the likes of Keith Richards and Mark Kozelek calling it a favourite or covering some of the tracks.

AC/DC - Live From River Plate is out now

FemaleFirst Helen Earnshaw

by for
find me on and follow me on

Tagged in