Matchbox Twenty

Matchbox Twenty

Matchbox Twenty are back with a bang for new album ‘North’, released September 4th on Atlantic Records.  

This fourth album from the Florida four-piece is an optimistic, hook-laden adventure trip bursting full of anthemic All-American guitar pop, anchored by one of catchiest first singles to ever rear its head; ‘She’s So Mean’, out now.  

Other album highlights include heartfelt acoustic number ‘Overjoyed’ and toe-tapping nugget ‘Put Your Hands Up’; tracks that wiggle their way into your grey matter without stopping for air.  

Written by Matchbox 20 - Rob Thomas, Paul Doucette, Kyle Cook and Brian Yale - and produced by Grammy-Award winning producer Matt Serletic (Willie Nelson, Aerosmith, Santana, Courtney Love) ‘North’ magnifies the crafty lyricism and insatiable melodies that have come to define the band’s work.  

"The title refers to us finding our way," says the band’s Paul Doucette."We went into this record with a lot of material.

"Many different songs that could have taken us in many different directions. It sort of overwhelmed us for a bit. But, at a certain point, we figured it out."   Matchbox Twenty are known best for hits ‘Push’, 3AM’ ‘Disease’ and ‘Unwell’, with frontman Rob Thomas gaining universal acclaim for his vital co-write on ‘Smooth’; the 1999 classic immortalised by Santana.  

'North’ follows their most recent release, 2007’s ‘Exile On Mainstream’ - a mixture of greatest hits and new tracks - and their last full-length offering of 2002; ‘More Than You Think They Are’.  

The band have sold 30 million records worldwide to date and have five Grammy nominations, four American Music Award nods and the 2004 People’s Choice Award for Favourite Musical Group to their name; now it’s their time to shine... again.   Look out for a UK live announcement...