The chose your own adventure genre has become more popular than ever in recent years, and the success of incredible games such as Until Dawn (2015) and even films such as Bandersnatch (2018) and Night Book (2021) have no doubt created a high level of entertainment for gamers everywhere.

The Dark Pictures Anthology is a daring and harrowing selection of games that all host a highly terrifying and deadly narrative, in which each and every choice could mean life of death.

The Anthology series is a stand-alone, branching collection of cinematic horror games, designed to face players with a new, haunting experience regularly.

Each game is its own story, and does not hold any connection to the other games in the collection. Every game boasts a brand-new setting, a new group of characters with their own personalities and traits, and new choices to make.

House of Ashes / Picture Credit: Supermassive Games
House of Ashes / Picture Credit: Supermassive Games

If playing alone, you may want to leave a light on as the scares will genuinely impact the choices you make; a jump-scare may lead to an accidental or quick decision, perhaps followed by the death of a character.

Man of Medan (2019) was the first game in this excellent collection, followed by Little Hope (2020); House of Ashes is the next story for gamers to sink their teeth into.

In the darkness of the Zargos mountains, a US military unit comes under fire from Iraqi forces. The firefight that followed causes an earth tremor, in which both sides fall into the Sumerian Ruins’ temple.

With communication impossible, our new protagonists are trapped. They must work together and find a way out; however, the group is unaware of the ancient and deadly evil that has woken from its slumber, and is starved for blood...

Dive head first into this terrifying underworld, where the fate of every single character is in your hands, and your hands only. Their survival depends on the decisions you make; each choice can result in a gruesome death, whether it be sooner or later.

House of Ashes / Picture Credit: Supermassive Games
House of Ashes / Picture Credit: Supermassive Games

You get to decide what the characters say and do, which can result in a positive move forward, or a devastating loss. Take on another life or death challenge and guide the group to safety, or not; your choice.

Will Rachel King (Ashley Tisdale), Jason Kolchek (Paul Zinno), Nick Kay (Moe Jeudy-Lamour), Eric King (Alex Gravenstein) and Salim Othman (Nick E. Tarabay) survive this living hell? The decision is up to you.

The trailer not only reveals the actors behind the characters, but it also gives us a glimpse of the monsters the group will be facing, and the amazing new setting for this upcoming game; in the House of Ashes, your choices and intuition have never been so important.

House of Ashes releases on October 22nd, 2021 on PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S and PC; you can preorder the game now.

Written by Melissa, who you can follow on Twitter @melissajournal

RELATED: Little Hope review: Is the second instalment in The Dark Pictures Anthology worth playing?

Tagged in