The Disney+ platform offers all bar three of the MCU movies
The Disney+ platform offers all bar three of the MCU movies

Whether you're somebody completely new to the Marvel Cinematic Universe, you've seen a handful of the films, or you're an avid fan who's been through them all more than once already, Disney+ is encouraging you to get your binge on once more, adding a number of different ways to check out the film series.

Unfortunately due to licensing issues, both of the MCU Spider-Man movies along with The Incredible Hulk are unavailable on the platform, but every other MCU offering is there and ready to be viewed. There are also plans to unveil some Disney+ original MCU tie-in series, with WandaVision hitting the service before the end of 2020.

Those who have a Disney+ subscription can now login and click on the Marvel section, where they'll see the MCU films ordered into different Phases, as well as a chronological order. This means that whether you want to watch them in release order, or have them ordered in relation to the in-movie years they actually take place, it's all done for you!

Whilst debates continue about the order in which you should watch, Disney+ have made it a simple decision to follow through with. The ordering of each Phase also allows fans to go back and watch in order of release, looking for clues and Easter Eggs that may have been planted in the films to hint at what was to come. The post-credits scenes also make a lot more sense if you watch in release order!

Chronological watching is probably best left for those who have seen all of the MCU movies already. Storytelling can become jumbled if this is your first time viewing the films, leading to more confusion than is necessary. This could put newcomers off from completing the series, so go through Phase-by-Phase is our best advice for newbies!

A number of Marvel movies that were set for release in 2020 have now been delayed, meaning that lockdown and the pandemic is providing the perfect opportunity to catch up and experience the MCU all over again.

Originally slated for a May 2020 release, Black Widow will now drop in May 2021. Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings follows in July 2021, with Eternals in November 2021 and Spider-Man: Homecoming 3 to drop in December 2021.

Moving into 2022, the MCU will see additions in the form of Thor: Love and Thunder, Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness, Black Panther 2 and Captain Marvel 2.

Of course, with an ever-changing landscape and release calendar, anything could happen. We'll be keeping our eyes peeled for further announcements!

RELATED: New Pixar movie Soul is coming to Disney+ on Christmas Day

by for
find me on and follow me on

Tagged in