Iron Maiden picked up Best Album for 'The Book Of Souls' at the 2016 Metal Hammer Golden God Awards.

Iron Maiden

Iron Maiden

The 'Run to the Hills' hitmakers took home the gong at the awards bash held at Eventim Apollo in Hammersmith, London on Monday night (13.06.16).

Elsewhere, former Slipknot drummer Joey Jordison was crowned 2016's Golden God taking home the most prestigious prize of the night, which has previously been given to Megadeth's Dave Mustaine, Marilyn Manson and late Motorhead frontman Lemmy.

Motley Crue's Nikki Sixx received the Icon Award while metallers Anthrax took home the Inspiration gong.

Halestorm's Lzzy Storm was crowned Dimebag Darrell 'Shredder' and Motorhead's Phil Campbell was hailed the Riff Lord.

In the young band categories, Asking Alexandria were voted Best UK Band, Southampton's Creeper picked up Best New Band and the Breakthrough prize went to Beartooth.

Other artists to be recognised included Best International Band winners Ghost, Best Underground went to Enslaved.

The evening - which was hosted by by Hatebreed's Jamey Jasta - ended with A Salute To Lemmy, who passed away in December from cancer.

Metal Hammer magazine editor Alexander Milas said: "There's only one publication in the world capable of putting such a broad range of talent under one roof, and that's Metal Hammer.

"For our 30th anniversary we pulled out all the stops, but it's really our Salute To Lemmy that's hit the loudest note. His legend will always live on."

The full winners list from the 2016 Metal Hammer Golden God Awards:

Best New Band - Creeper

Best Underground - Enslaved

Best UK Band - Asking Alexandria

Best International Band - Ghost

Breakthrough - Beartooth

Best Live Band - Lamb Of God

Best Independent Label - Prosthetic Records

Dimebag Darrell 'Shredder' - Lzzy Hale

Best Album - 'The Book Of Souls' Iron Maiden

Riff Lord - Phil Campbell

Inspiration - Anthrax

Icon - Nikki Sixx

Global Metal Band - Chthonic

Golden God - Joey Jordison

Best Video - Parkway Drive