Barbra Streisand's first album in two years is inspired by Donald Trump and the current political climate.

Barbra Streisand's Walls artwork

Barbra Streisand's Walls artwork

The 'Woman in Love' hitmaker is set to release 'Walls' on November 2, and the iconic performer has admitted the 2016 presidential election "gave her energy" and the desire to express her views on her first record since 2016's 'Encore: Movie Partners Sing Broadway'.

In an interview with Billboard, she said: "These times gave me energy.

"I felt so passionate about it. And music gave me that creative way to express my feelings.

"I'm very grateful to have music in my life, to be able to do that."

The album started with the song 'What's On My Mind', which was initially going to be the title of the album.

Though the song tackles immigration, the 'A Star Is Born' star says it also provides a positive message of "diversity being our strength".

She explained: "It started with me thinking the album was going to be called 'What's On My Mind'.

"My last tour finished around the time of the last presidential election, and I needed to make another album.

"As the year started to unfold, I started to think more about recording an album that reflected what was going on in the country, because that was what was on my mind.

"I started to write down my thoughts, and that's how 'What's On My Mind' began the album; it sets up the album. That song is about our diversity being our strength.

"It's a lot about immigration, but you try to make something that isn't hitting the subject over the head.

"You want to create a universal language in the lyric that people can relate to."

The 'Don't Rain On My Parade' singer confessed that the song 'Don't Lie To Me', which is available now, is directly aimed at Trump and her "protest" song.

She said: "It's my protest, in a sense, about this unprecedented time in our history. What it says about America. We have to give up the Electoral College system, that's what I know.

"I think people should vote for the president of the United Status - the popular vote should count. Give people a voice; one vote, one voice."

Adding to the message of hope and peace, Barbra has also recorded a rendition of John Lennon's classic 'Imagine', which she got permission from the late Beatle legend's widow Yoko Ono for.

And there is even a cover of Burt Bacharach and Hal David's pop standard 'What The World Needs Now'.

The track-listing for 'Walls' is as follows:

1. 'What's On My Mind'

2. 'Don't Lie To Me'

3.'Imagine' / 'What A Wonderful World'

4. 'Walls'

5. 'Lady Liberty'

6. 'What The World Needs Now'

7. 'Better Angels'

8. 'Love's Never Wrong'

9. 'The Rain Will Fall'

10. 'Take Care Of This House'

11. 'Happy Days Are Here Again'