Young Guns

Young Guns

Strength comes from our bones - the knowledge that, deep down, nothing is impossible.

'Bones', the stunning new album from Young Guns, captures exactly that: it's a hymn to bravery and boldness, the defining statement so far from one of our finest bands.

"We've written something that I feel happy describing as 'brave'," says frontman Gustav Wood, "and it will challenge a lot of people's preconceptions about what sort of band we are. It's an ambitious record, and we have the ambition to match the sound."

Written over a number of months everywhere from Thailand to Spain to a shed in the band's hometown of High Wycombe, 'Bones' (recorded at Karma Sound Studio in Bang Saray, Thailand and subsequently mastered to tape) marks Young Guns' transition from a band packed with potential to bonafide contenders for the title of Britain's best.

It's a stirring album full of contradictions - it speaks of strength and vulnerability, friendship and loss, energetic youth and heavy-hearted experience - that proudly displays Wood, John Taylor (guitar), Fraser Taylor (guitar), Simon Mitchell (bass) and Ben Jolliffe (drums)'s skyscraping vision, and in some style.

"When you're writing an album you need to believe that what you're doing is the most important thing in the world," continues Gustav. "And this feels like it is. It feels like we've achieved something."

Having formed from the ashes of a variety of local bands, Young Guns' first release was the striking 'Mirrors' EP in June 2009.

But it wasn't until debut album 'All Our Kings Are Dead', unveiled in July 2010, that they began to really show what they were capable of.

Backed by a groundswell of popular support, the band hit magazine covers, headlined the HMV Forum in London, toured Australia and played the Main Stage at Reading and Leeds Festivals; in the backs of their minds, though, they knew they could do better.

Forthcoming 2nd album, ‘Bones’, will be released on February 6th 2012 via Play it Again Sam Recordings

'I Was Born, I Have Lived, I Will Surely Die'
'Dearly Departed'
'Towers (On My Way)'
'A Hymn For All I've Lost'
'You Are Not'
'Brother In Arms'
'Learn My Lesson'
'Everything Ends'

Tagged in