An Education

An Education

The USA have been casting their eye over the gong worthy performances of the year so far this awards season but now the London Film Critics' Circle have earmarked their stand out movies and performances.

And it's the critically acclaimed An Education that is leading the pack with seven nominations including The Attenborough Award: British Film of the Year.

Starring Carey Mulligan An Education is a coming-of-age story about a teenage girl in 1960s suburban London, and how her life changes with the arrival of a playboy nearly twice her age.

Mulligan has already attracted plenty of awards attention so far with nominations at both the Golden Globes and the Screen Actors Guild Awards for her performance.

And she has been recognised once again with nominations in the Actress of the Year category as well as British Actress of the Year.

However she faces tough competition for the Actress of the Year gong with Vera Farmiga, Meryl Streep, Mo'Nique and Abbie Cornish having all bagged nominations.

And it's a repeat of the British battle at the Golden Globes in the British Actress if the year as Mulligan once again goes head to head with Helen Mirren for her role in The Last Station and Emily Blunt for The Young Victoria. Kate Jarvis for fish Tank and Kristen Scott Thomas for Nowhere Boy complete the category.

Jeff Bridge and George Clooney have both been nominated for Best Actor as has Christoph Waltz for Inglourious Basterds, and he finds himself promoted from Best Supporting Actor.

Colin Firth, who has already enjoyed award success for his performance in A Single Man is favourite to take home the Best British Actor gong but Tom Brady, Peter Capaldi, Christian MacKay and Andy Serkis are also nominated.

Director of the year sees more award nominations for James Cameron for Avatar, Kathryn Bigelow for The Hurt Locker and Jason Reitman for Up In The Air once again nominated, Michael Haneke and Jacques Audiard complete the list.

The Best British Director of the Year also looks set to be a close battle with Andrea Arnold, Armando Iannucci, Duncan James, Kevin McDonald and Sam Taylor Wood all bagging nods for their work.

Duncan James received critical acclaimed for his debut movie Moon, which was a huge hit on the festival circuit earlier this year.

He was also nominated for the Breakthrough British Filmmaker award alongside Daniel Barber for Harry Brown, Armando Ianucci for In The Loop, Peter Strickland for Katalin Varga and Sam Taylor Wood for Nowhere Boy.

And while the awards have a very British feel it's American filmmaker Quentin Tarantino that will be honoured at the ceremony with the Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Cinema.

Breakthrough British Film-Maker

Daniel Barber - Harry Brown
Armando Ianucci - In the Loop
Duncan Jones - Moon
Peter Strickland - Katalin Varga
Sam Taylor-Wood - Nowhere Boy 

The Attenborough Award: British Film of the Year

Bright Star
An Education
Fish Tank
In the Loop and Moon

Foreign Language Film of the Year

The Class
Let the Right One In
A Prophet
The White Ribbon

Director of the Year

Jacques Audiard - A Prophet
Kathryn Bigelow - The Hurt Locker
James Cameron - Avatar
Michael Haneke - The White Ribbon
Jason Reitman - Up in the Air

British Director of the Year

Andrea Arnold - Fish Tank
Armando Iannucci - In the Loop
Duncan Jones - Moon
Kevin Macdonald - State of Play
Sam Taylor-Wood - Nowhere Boy

Actor of the Year

Jeff Bridges - Crazy Heart
George Clooney - Up in the Air
Tahar Rahim - A Prophet
Michael Stuhlbarg - A Serious Man
Christoph Waltz - Inglourious Basterds

Actress of the Year

Abbie Cornish - Bright Star
Vera Farmiga - Up in the Air
Mo'Nique - Precious
Carey Mulligan - An Education
Meryl Streep - Julie & Julia

British Actor of the Year

Peter Capaldi - In the Loop
Colin Firth - A Single Man
Tom Hardy - Bronson
Christian MacKay - Me and Orson Welles
Andy Serkis - Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll

British Actress of the Year

Emily Blunt - The Young Victoria
Helen Mirren - The Last Station
Carey Mulligan - An Education
Katie Jarvis - Fish Tank
Kristin Scott Thomas - Nowhere Boy

British Actor in a Supporting Role

Michael Fassbender - Fish Tank
John Hurt - 44 Inch Chest
Jason Isaacs - Good
Alfred Molina - An Education
Timothy Spall - The Damned United

British Actress in a Supporting Role

Emily Blunt - Sunshine Cleaning
Anne-Marie Duff - Nowhere Boy
Rosamund Pike - An Education
Kierston Wareing - Fish Tank
Olivia Williams - An Education

Screenwriter of the Year

Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci & Tony Roche - In the Loop 
Thomas Bidegain & Jacques Audiard - A Prophet
Joel & Ethan Coen - A Serious Man
Michael Haneke - The White Ribbon
Nick Hornby - An Education

The NSPCC Award: Young British Performer of the Year

Katie Jarvis - Fish Tank
Aaron Johnson - Nowhere Boy and Dummy
George MacKay - The Boys Are Back      
Bill Milner - Is Anybody There? and Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll
Saoirse Ronan - The Lovely Bones

Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Cinema

Quentin Tarantino

30th Anniversary Award: Best of our Winners Since 1980

Apocalypse Now (Francis Ford Coppola, 1980)

The winners will be announced on the 18th February.

FemaleFirst Helen Earnshaw

by for
find me on and follow me on

Tagged in