Michael Fassbender

Michael Fassbender

A selection of powerful and provocative films lead the way at this year’s Evening Standard British Film Awards, held in association with the London Film Museum and supported by Möet & Chandon.

Michael Fassbender wins Best Actor for his portrayal of a sex addict in Shame and his brooding Rochester in Jane Eyre seeing off, amongst others, the likes of Oscar-nominated Gary Oldman (Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy) and War Horse star Tom Hiddleston (The Deep Blue Sea and Archipelago).

Lynne Ramsay’s brilliant adaptation of Lionel Shriver’s searing novel We Need To Talk About Kevin wins Best Film. The film dramatically explores the complexities of maternal love in the most challenging of circumstances.

Olivia Colman wins Best Actress for her role as a battered wife pushed to the limit in Paddy Considine’s Tyrannosaur. (Audiences may recognise Colman as a hilarious Carol Thatcher in The Iron Lady and the vicar’s wife in TV’s Rev.)

Colman picked up her award in person at a glittering ceremony hosted by Episodes/ Green Wing star Stephen Mangan at the London Film Museum.

Her win marks a major achievement for Colman who was shortlisted alongside three Oscar-winning British actresses: Vanessa Redgrave (Coriolanus), Tilda Swinton (We Need To Talk About Kevin) and  Rachel Weisz (The Deep Blue Sea).

Writing/ directing duo Tom Kingsley and Will Sharpe who made the highly original Black Pond on a shoestring (and are both in their mid twenties) jointly win Most Promising Newcomer, having already earned a place on the Peter Sellers Comedy Award shortlist. 

Meanwhile, the Peter Sellers Comedy Award goes to The Guard (which was also shortlisted for Best Actor and Best Screenplay). The film is written and directed by John Michael McDonagh and features Brendan Gleeson, as a foul-mouthed, highly amusing Irish Sergeant.

Senna, directed by Asif Kapadia, wins Best Documentary with its high-octane story of Grand Prix hero Ayrton Senna, while Andrew Haigh’s Weekend, a film about the passions between two men wins Best Screenplay.

The London Film Museum Award For Technical Achievement goes to Robbie Ryan for captivating cinematography in the recent big-screen version of Wuthering Heights.

And finally, the Alexander Walker Special Award For Contribution To Cinema goes to BAFTA-winning actor John Hurt, whose career spans four decades and includes the recent role of Control in the shortlisted Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.


- Best Film presented by Sophie Okonedo:

We Need to Talk About Kevin
Lynne Ramsay

- Best Actor presented by Elizabeth McGovern:

Michael Fassbender 
for his performances in Shame & Jane Eyre

- Best Actress presented by Matt Smith:

Olivia Colman
for her performance in Tyrannosaur

- Most Promising Newcomers  presented by Warwick Davis:

Tom Kingsley & Will Sharpe
Co-writers and directors of Black Pond

- Peter Sellers Award For Comedy presented by Clémence Poésy:

The Guard
written and directed by John Michael McDonagh

- Best Documentary presented by Noel Fielding:

Asif Kapadia

- Best Screenplay presented by Alexandra Roach:

Andrew Haigh

- London Film Museum Award For Technical Achievement presented by Ruth Negga:

Robbie Ryan
For his cinematography of Wuthering Heights

- Alexander Walker Special Award presented by Stephen Frears:

John Hurt for his contribution to cinema

- Blockbuster Of The Year, People’s Choice Award

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2, 3D