The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion

The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion

Meat And Bone is the first studio album by The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion in eight years. This is straight-up, Grade A Blues Explosion, produced and mixed by Mr. Spencer himself, with no special guests.

Meat And Bone is 12 prime cuts of raw rock’n’roll recorded on Sly Stone's "Riot" Flickinger console at the legendary Key Club Recording Studio in Benton Harbor, MI, and mixed in the jungles of New York City.

Judah Bauer, Russell Simins, and Jon Spencer continue to blow minds with their fusillade of energy and rhythm, and have once again proven that The Blues Is #1!

The new album comes on the heels of the meticulous and loving 2010 reissues of the band’s Mute releases, including classics 'Extra Width', 'Orange', and 'Now I Got Worry', and more recently,  the re-release of the long out-of-print legendary Pussy Galore back catalog.

It was amid this period of looking back, that Spencer, Simins and Bauer began the process of moving forward.

Says Jon Spencer: "We still have that psychic glue that allows us to create music together. Over the course of a year touring and writing new songs and recording, we rediscovered our shared history as a band. We circled the wagons, and went back to our roots. In a way this is almost like another first album."  

On stage and in the studio, Jon Spencer has destroyed and rebuilt American roots music with such ferocity and wild abandon that it's hard to believe there is anything left. 

It's been twenty years since The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion first pressed 'record', and twenty years since Spencer and his A-Team of sonic terrorists tore up the indie-rock landscape with fever and a visceral, untouchable vision of rock'n'roll that did for a new wave of blues-punk primitivists what Helen of Troy's face did for the armada.

But make no mistake: Jon Spencer was there first. He is the original. It was his sanctified outbursts and blues-bending riffs that began the new-fangled roots rock revolution and spawned countless imitators.

With Pussy Galore he gargled with the Stones and Stooges and wrestled with industrial noise and fuzzed-out fucked-up sixties garage crud with Blues Explosion he drove furiously into the future with incendiary spirit built from courage, audacity, and revolt.  Nothing has been the same since.

Meat And Bone track listing:

1. Black Mold

2. Bag Of Bones

3. Boot Cut

4. Get Your Pants Off

5. Ice Cream Killer

6. Strange Baby

7. Bottle Baby

8. Danger

9. Black Thoughts

10. Unclear

11. Bear Trap

12. Zimgar