The contenders for the BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2021 have been revealed.

Tyson Fury

Tyson Fury

Tom Daley, Emma Raducanu, Tyson Fury, Adam Peaty, Raheem Sterling and Dame Sarah Storey.

Gary Lineker, Clare Balding, Gabby Logan and Alex Scott will present the ceremony on BBC One next Sunday (19.12.21) when voting will open during the show.

Daley, Peaty and Storey all won gold for Team GB at the Tokyo Olympic and Paralympic Games while Raducanu became the first British female player to win a Grand Slam for 44 years when she triumphed at the US Open in September.

Sterling proved to be a key player as England reached the final of Euro 2020 and Fury confirmed his status as one of Britain's best fighters by defeating Deontay Wilder in their trilogy bout.

2020 winner Lewis Hamilton has not been included on the shortlist for the ceremony - that will be filmed at MediaCity in Salford.

Fury has previously spoken out against the award and declined to attend the ceremony when he was nominated last year and recently threatened legal action against the BBC if he was nominated this year.

The boxer said: "It means nothing to me and I don't need it or want it.

"In fact, they will hear from my solicitors if they do put me on the list. Give it to someone who needs it. I don't.

"And, anyway, we know who the sports personality of the year is anyway - it's me.

"I am the sports personality. Who does what I do, goes through a war in Las Vegas, entertains the fans, and then sings to the audience?"

Tagged in